The flash capacitor can attack

Well… 2 years ago I’ve broke my Canon PowerShot A2000 camera lens.
Though the LCD and the rest of the camera is working – the lens focal is frozen and the image looks blurred.

So I’ve decided to open it up and maybe turned it into something cool (Nes machine?).
Just when I started enjoying the beauty of an undressed camera, she attacked me.

It turns out that each camera (with flash) has this thing called Flash Capacitor.
It looks like a battery and stores some power for the camera’s flash.

Eventually I’ve drained it using this tutorial
http://www.fileden.com/files/2009/8/1/2529628/Flash%20Capacitor%20Safety.pdf

Watch out from this small zapper

Leave a Reply

